Enright Confirmed as HDOA Chair

Posted on Mar 11, 2014 in Main
Chair Enright and members of the State Senate after confirmation


Scott Enright was confirmed by the State Senate as the new Chairperson of the Hawaii Board of Agriculture on Friday, March 7, 2014. 

Since February 2012, Enright has served as deputy to BOA Chair Russell Kokubun, who retired at the end of last year. In that capacity, Enright was the administrator of the state Department of Agriculture (DOA) Divisions of Plant Industry and Agricultural Development, managed the USDA Specialty Crop Block Grant funding program, and directed Human Resources for the Office of the Chair. He also directed biosecurity programs, led initiatives to revitalize the state’s livestock industry with special focus on developing dairy industry and grass-fed beef industry, and provided direction for improving infrastructure for irrigation systems statewide.

Previously, Enright was a consultant for the Hawaii Sustainable Agriculture and Renewable Energy Project, project manager for the ITC Water Management Inc., cultivation and irrigation superintendent for Hamakua Sugar Company, and orchard superintendent for Kilauea Agronomics.

Active in the agriculture industry and community, he is a former chair and current ex officio member representing the DOA on the board of the Agribusiness Development Corporation. He has also served on the Governor’s Council of Neighbor Islands Advisors for East Hawaii (2009-2010), during which he championed sustainable energy with emphasis on sustainable bioenergy fuel stock. In addition, he is a member of the Community Development Plan Steering Committee for the Hamakua District, past chair of the Environmental Management Commission, past member of the Hilo-Hamakua Community Development Corporation Board, and founding president of the Ookala Community Association.

Enright earned bachelor’s degrees in psychology and philosophy from the University of Hawaii at Hilo.

He is a resident of Ookala on the Hamakua Coast of Hawaii Island.

Photos below from the Senate confirmation on Friday, March 7, 2014.