Industrial Hemp FAQs
Frequently Asked Questions
- Is there an application deadline for the first round?
No set deadline, but there is no guarantee that an application submitted will be processed or a license issued for the licensing period.
- How many licenses will be given out (1) in June (2) in 2018 (3) over the course of the program?
Amount of licenses granted depends on a variety of factors, not all of which are known to HDOA at this time, and not all of which are stable factors which will not change over the course of the program.
- Is there an application fee?
Yes. The application fee is $500 by cashier’s check or money order and is non-refundable. Applications not accompanied with the application fee will be deemed incomplete.
- When are the first licenses expect to be issued? June 1st or 30th?
Unknown at this time, issuance depends on when and how many applications are submitted.
- There is a limit of 10 acres per grower on a contiguous plot. But, can one grower be issued multiple plots?
Theoretically yes, one group could apply for multiple licenses. HDOA is unlikely to award 1 group multiple licenses at this time, however, if there are many applicants. HDOA encourages applicants to apply for no more than one license at a time for 2018.
- Is HDOA supplying the seed? How much seed will be given to each licensee? Do you know what the cost is if there is a charge?
HDOA is supplying growers with Yuma. Depending on the amount of seed requested, if HDOA can supply all needs with its supply on hand, it will be supplied free of charge. If growers request more seed than HDOA has on hand, then growers will be given the option to purchase and import Yuma with HDOA’s assistance, at the grower’s own cost.
- Can a licensed grower sell the seed to someone else?
A licensed grower can produce and sell viable seed to another licensed grower, provided that they comply with seed distribution/labelling laws and any other applicable laws.
http://hdoa.hawaii.gov/pi/ppc/cm/ – Seed law information in 4th paragraph of the Chemical/Mechanical Control Section page.
Hawaii Seed Law is Chapter 150 HRS, Seed rules is Chapter 4-67 HAR
A link for the HDOA Seed License Application is included there. https://hdoa.hawaii.gov/pi/files/2013/01/seed-license-2pages-rvised-2017-fillable.pdf
- I have or know of seed I want to bring in if I get a license, or seed I am wondering if HDOA would be interested in buying?
HDOA will make available to licensees seed tested and/or developed through its seed development program. Licensees cannot bring in their own seed. If, however, a varietal from a legitimate company in a foreign country looks to be promising given Hawaii’s unique latitude and photo period, and can be further developed without IP or breeding restrictions, HDOA is willing to look into the varietal and the possibility of importing it for usage in its programs.
Testing, Inspection, Security
- What will inspections look for? How will inspections be conducted? (Unannounced or scheduled?)
Routine sample collection and testing will take place sometime within 30 days before harvest. Inspections may be announced or unannounced, and be performed to ensure compliance with rules, and confirm reports and adherence to stated research and best management plans.
- What kind of tests will be done? Will the tests be conducted in Hawaii or sent elsewhere?
Potency testing for THC and sometimes pesticides screening. Conducted by authorized labs here.
- How is HDOA going to make sure that industrial hemp is not sold as real marijuana?
HDOA will carefully review applicant’s security plans to ensure that it is appropriate for the location and endeavor proposed. Ultimately, it is the licensee’s responsibility to protect their crop, and report any theft to law enforcement.
Processing and Sales
- Will the Hawaii Department of Agriculture provide hemp processing facilities or buy hemp from growers?
- Will I need a permit from HDOA if I want to process hemp?
No permit is necessary from HDOA, as HDOA regulates growth, not processing. Those who process hemp may, however, fall under the regulatory oversight of other state and/or federal agencies.
- Can the hemp products be sold outside of Hawaii?
HDOA regulates growth, not processing and sales thereafter.