Requirements for Swine to enter the State of Hawaii – 2017
- A Permit is required in advance of shipment to import swine into Hawaii. The permit can be obtained from the Hawaii Department of Agriculture/Animal Industry Division at (808) 483-7113. Please have the veterinarian who will be issuing the health certificate contact this office at least one week in advance of shipment for the permit. In order to process the permit, the veterinarian will need to submit for review the results of the animal’s negative fecal for the Swine Enteric Coronavirus disease (SECD). In addition, the official ID for your animal (s) must be written on the lab results and the health certificate (iCVI).
- The original interstate Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (iCVI) must accompany the shipment. Xerox copies and FAX copies are NOT accepted.
- The swine must be inspected and the iCVI issued within 7 days before shipment, and the issue date is recorded on the CVI.
- Swine entering the state must be identified to meet USDA requirements for interstate movement. (https://www.aphis.usda.gov/traceability/downloads/rule_movement_swine.pdf. Swine for immediate slaughter must have an individual ear tag, slap brand, or tattoo with this identification recorded on the iCVI. Breeding, feeder, or pet swine must have identification which meets the USDA requirements for interstate transport, with this identification recorded on the iCVI. Companion pot bellied and mini pigs can be alternatively identified with unique microchips that are ISO 11784/85 compliant.
- Swine Enteric Coronavirus disease (SECD) includes Porcine Epidemic Diarrhea virus (PEDv) and Porcine Delta Coronavirus (PDCoV). All breeding/pet swine entering the State shall have fecal samples tested negative for SECD by PCR, as required by the Hawaii State Veterinarian within 14 days of entry. All lots of feeder and market hogs entering the State shall be tested negative for SECD diseases by PCR, as required by the Hawaii State Veterinarian within 14 days of entry. Contact the Hawaii State Veterinarian to determine the number of hogs to be tested – (808) 483-7113
- All classes of swine except swine for direct slaughter shall have a negative official pseudorabies serologic test and shall be tested negative for swine brucellosis by a USDA approved laboratory within 30 days before shipment. In addition, all swine moving to the island of Kauai must be tested for PRRS (Porcine Reproductive and Respiratory Syndrome) within 30 days before shipment. All swine not going directly to slaughter must be quarantined and retested 30-45 days after arrival.
- The following statements are written on the iCVI:
- Free from external parasites and symptoms of transmissible diseases and have not had recent exposure to these diseases.
- Have originated in a herd in which there have been no cases of pseudorabies during the twelve-month period preceding shipment.
- Have not been fed raw garbage.
- Are progeny of and originate in a herd and area not under quarantine for any other swine disease.
The following statement is to appear on the interstate Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (iCVI) for all livestock entering Hawaii from States currently affected with Vesicular Stomatitis (VS) for the duration of the VS outbreak.
“I have examined all the animals identified on this certificate within 72 hours of shipment date and found them to be free from signs of Vesicular Stomatitis (VS). During the last thirty (30) days, these animals have not been exposed to VS nor located on a VS confirmed or a VS suspected premises.”
- Names, addresses, and phone numbers of the shipper (consignor) and receiver (consignee) are filled out. The complete animal identification including age, sex, breed, and ear tag number or tattoo are recorded on the CVI.
- The accredited veterinarian’s signature, printed name, address, and phone # are recorded on the iCVI.
State regulations can be found on the internet at:
If you have any questions, you are encouraged to call the State of Hawaii Division of Animal Industry (808) 483-7113 or FAX (808) 483-7110.
Swine not meeting pre-entry requirements may be refused entry into the state and be shipped back to their point of origin.