Chairperson’s Office

Sharon Hurd, Chairperson

The Chairperson of the Board of Agriculture is appointed by the Governor and concurrently serves as the director of the Department of Agriculture.  The Office of the Chairperson coordinates and provide administrative support to the Board of Agriculture, which meets monthly.

The Chairperson leads six divisions, one staff office, and an attached program in its mission to stimulate growth in agriculture in Hawaii. The department’s main objectives are to preserve, promote and develop essential agricultural resources and infrastructure; to create and maximize opportunities for exporting; and facilitate growth of existing and new agricultural commodities and by-products. In addition, the department works to prevent the introduction and establishment of plants, animals and diseases that are detrimental to the state’s agriculture industry and the environment.

The office also includes Deputy to the Chairperson, Dexter Kishida; a public information officer and two planners.

To learn more about the Chair and her views on current agriculture issues, view an interview by the Ulupono Initiative’s Talk Story Room at: